The University supports an ongoing programme of faculty mobility between Swansea and its Texas partner universities.

Supported by dedicated funding, including bespoke seedcorn funding and Erasmus+ funds, it has been able to facilitate a significant number of faculty visits and deliver an extensive programme of more than 85 guest lectures in both Swansea and Texas.

International Strategic Partnership Seedcorn Funds

Quarter coin from Texas

Honorary Appointments

Dr Helen Valier

International Strategic Partnership Seedcorn Funds

International Strategic Partnership Seedcorn Funds are available to support Swansea University staff in the development of new collaborations with one (or more) of the University's Texas partner institutions in one (or more) of the following areas:

  • Collaborative research
  • Teaching collaboration
  • Student exchange
  • Professional services collaborations

Ten awards of £1,000 each are available in 2020/21.

Further information can be found here.  

Honorary Appointments

A number of internationally renowned academics from Texas partner universities have been appointed into Honorary positions at Swansea to further strengthen collaborations in teaching and research:

  • Professor Philip Bobbit (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Dr Stuart Corr (Houston Methodist Research Institute)
  • Professor Kurt Heinzelman (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Dr Barry Holtz (Holtz Biopharma Consulting)
  • Professor Allen Matusow (Rice University)
  • Dr Jaime Ortiz  (University of Houston)
  • Dr Matthew Ware (Bristol-Myers Squibb)
  • Dr Amy Wright (Houston Methodist Research Institute)


Professor Lisa Wallace from the Medical School received a Texas Collaboration Funding Award to establish a student summer programme in Texas

The programme allowed students from BSc Applied Medical Sciences to spend six weeks at Baylor College of Medicine's Interdisciplinary Surgical Technology and Innovation Center (INSTINCT) where they completed innovation projects aimed at developing new medical devices, undertook surgery observations and simulations and participated in workshops, think tanks and elevator pitches. Read more.

Dr Eoin Price from English Literature and Creative Writing was awarded a Texas Collaboration Funding Award to develop a research collaboration at Texas A&M University.

He met book history experts, participated in workshops, and delivered a paper on reprints and revivals which is due for publication in a special issue of Shakespeare Bulletin. Following his visit, he was awarded a Research Fellowship at UT Austin’s Harry Ransom Center which allowed him to undertake research for his next project, Early Modern Drama and the Jacobean Aesthetic.

An Erasmus+ travel grant supported Dr Grazia Todeschini from the College of Engineering to develop a research collaboration at UT Austin.

The research examines different methods to limit power quality disturbances in electrical systems and two papers based on this work were presented at the 2018 General Meeting of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Power and Energy Society, with four further papers published in the IEEE Transactions and IET journals.

A Texas Collaboration Funding Award supported Dr Hany Abdel-Latif to develop a research collaboration with Rice University.

The research explored the global interrelationship between oil prices, financial liquidity and geopolitical risk and was the first to consider all three global variables simultaneously. Published in Applied Economics Letters and the Economic Research Forum, it concluded that a significant fall in oil prices would increase geopolitical risk and reduce global financial liquidity, whilst an increase in geopolitical risk would lead to rising oil prices..