Dr Waye Zhang

Senior Lecturer, Chemical Engineering

Email address

Academic Office - C_216
Second Floor
Engineering Central
Bay Campus
Available For Postgraduate Supervision


Dr Zhang has a proven track record in the development of novel prototype technologies, especially in water monitoring and treatment. From 2011 to 2014, he developed a novel capacitive deionization (CDI) technology for inland brackish water desalination, which was funded by the National Centre of Excellence in Desalination, Australia (NCEDA). This project was carried out in conjunction with the industry partners, ‘Power and Water Corporation’ in the Northern Territory, and ‘SA Water’ in South Australia.The impact of his work on Australian socioeconomics was featured as a cover article titled, ‘CDI can supply remote places’ in Desalination & Water Reuse, Vol. 22, Issue 2 and also won him the highly competitive Australian Water Association (AWA) Postgraduate Water Research Award in 2013.

Since 2014, Dr Zhang was awarded many prestigious fellowships: 1) Australian Endeavour Research Fellowship at the University of Cincinnati and National Risk Management Research Laboratory, United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA); 2) Japan Society for Promotion of Science (JSPS) Overseas Fellow at University of Tokyo; 3) Horizon 2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) Individual Fellow at Swansea University. Currently, one of Dr Zhang's main research interests is to develop low-cost electrochemical sensors using various waste materials for environmental water monitoring, including heavy metals (i.e. lead and cadmium), PFAS, disinfection by-products, algal toxins, methylisoborneol, and geosmin. 

Areas Of Expertise

  • Water Treatment
  • Water Quality
  • Bio-/Chemo-sensors
  • Desalination
  • Nanomaterials
  • Environmental Technologies

Career Highlights

Award Highlights

2018  Marie Curie Alumni Association (MCAA) Micro Media Grant
2018  Florence Mockeridge Fellowship, Swansea University
2017  Horizon 2020 Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions (MSCA) Individual Fellowship
2015  Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Postdoctoral Fellowship
2014  Australian Endeavour Research Fellowship
2013  UniSA Early Career Researcher International Research Travel Award
2012  Australian Water Association (AWA) Postgraduate Water Research Award
2012  UniSA Supported Researcher Scheme Award
2010  International Humic Substance Society (IHSS) Travel Support Award
2009  Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Students Abroad
2008  Australian Postgraduate Awards (APA) & Industry Scholarship