Photo of Grove Building entrance
Professor Keir Lewis

Professor Keir Lewis

Professor of Respiratory Medicine (COPD), Medicine

Telephone number

+44 (0) 1792 295505

Email address

Welsh language proficiency

Basic Welsh Speaker

Research Links


Keir Lewis is Professor of Respiratory Medicine at SUMs and a Consultant and Respiratory Lead at Hywel Dda University Health Board. 

He works across multiple institutions in the NHS, Welsh and UK Clinical R&D sector. He works together with various University Academics, Clinicians and Industry to improve the health of people with lung disease and attract investment into the UK and Wales. 

Areas Of Expertise

  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
  • Smoking Cessation
  • Ventilatory failure
  • Sleep Apnoea
  • Biomarkers

Career Highlights

Teaching Interests

Undergraduate teaching:

-Week Lead (Pneumonia-GEM Year 1, Sleep Apnoea and Ventilatory Failure-GEM Year 2)

-Lectures to MSc Microbiology

-Lectures to BSc Medical Engineering

Medical student placements (Swansea and Cardiff University) are consistently scoring our respiratory clinical firm in Llanelli in the top quartile in Wales.


Postgraduate teaching:

-Lectures to Specialist Trainees (GiM and Respiratory) including organiser of the Wales Respiratory STC Training week 2003-2011

-Invited lectures to Health Professionals on COPD and Smoking Cessation across Wales and worldwide



-Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (2017)

-Teacher of the Year, Swansea University, BMA Awards Wales (2015)

-Outstanding Achievement Award, Swansea University, BMA Awards Wales (2015)

Award Highlights

2008 Winner Leading on Service Improvement (NHS Wales)

2010 Winner Innovation in the NHS (MediWales)

2011 Chairman’s Best of Health (Hywel Dda, Staff Service Award)

2013 ASH Wales, Excellence in Tobacco Research

2014 Winner NHS Collaboration with International Industry (MediWales)

2016 Runner-up Clinical Team of the Year (Smoking Cessation), Hywel Dda University Health Board

2017 Judges Prize, Industry Award, MediWales (Bond Digital Health)

2018 Winner Improving Health & Wellbeing & Reducing Inequalities (NHS Wales)

2018 Outstanding Achievement in Medicine, South Wales Argus

2018 Winner NHS Research Innovation (MediWales)

2018 Winner NHS Collaboration with Industry (MediWales)



Swansea University:

Prof MJ Lewis 2009, 2010, 2011, ongoing (Sports Science)

Prof Blagrove 2011 (Psychology)

Prof Webster 2015 (Engineering)

Prof R Williams 2016 (Engineering)

Prof Claypole 2012, 2014 (Engineering)

Dr Daniels 2018 (Engineering)

Prof Nithiarasu 2008 (Engineering)

Prof Rapport 2015 (Health sciences)

Prof Lyons 2012, 2019 (Medicine)

Prof Hutchings 2014 & ongoing (Medicine)

Prof G Davies 2009, 2015 & ongoing (Medicine)

Dr Weston 2010 (Medicine)

Prof Stephens 2009, 2012 (Medicine)

Prof Brophy 2017 (Medicine)

Prof Evans 2014 (Medicine)



Aberystwyth University IBERS (Prof Luis Mur)

Cardiff University, School of Biosciences (Prof Daniela Riccardi)

Bangor University (Dr Christian Subbe)



Bristol University (Prof Nick Maskell)

Leicester University (Prof Chris Brightling)

Birmingham University (Prof Dave Thickett)

Newcastle University (Prof Steven Bourke)

ACCORD-2 platform

Defence Science Technology Laboratory-Porton Down ttps:// (Dr Emrys Kirkham)



Monash University, Melbourne, Australia (Dr Arwel Jones)