A photo of Professor Lyn Evans standing next to the Large Hadron Collider.

Renowned Welsh physicist Professor Lyn Evans has been appointed an Institute of Physics 2021 Honorary Fellow.

Professor Evans is being awarded for 'his sustained and distinguished contributions to, and leadership in, the design, construction and operation of particle accelerator systems, in particular, the Large Hadron Collider facility.'

The Institute of Physics (IOP) is the professional body and learned society for physics and the leading body for practising physicists in the UK and Ireland. An Honorary Fellowship is the highest accolade it presents and reflects an individual's exceptional services to physics.

Every member of the IOP's celebrated community of Honorary Fellows has contributed significantly to the advancement of physics through a range of means and serves as an ambassador for physics, physicists and the IOP.

Professor Evans graduated from Swansea University in 1966 with a degree in Physics and, in 1970, completed his PhD in the same subject.

Since receiving an Honorary Degree from the University in 2002, Professor Evans has retained his connections with Swansea, collaborating with staff, welcoming visiting groups from the University to CERN, and joining the Swansea Science Festival 2020 as a special guest.

Professor Lyn Evans, said: "I am delighted to have been made an Institute of Physics Honorary Fellow.

"I am humbled to join such an inspirational group of physicists and look forward to working with the Institute of Physics to advance its mission of inspiring people to develop their knowledge, understanding and enjoyment of physics."

Congratulating this year's new Honorary Fellows, Institute of Physics President, Professor Sheila Rowan, said: "Our Honorary Fellows represent an extraordinary group of physicists who have individually and collectively advanced our field. 

"Each of them has made a significant positive difference to our understanding of, and pursuit of progress in, physics, and represents an example of what we as a community can achieve. 

"On behalf of the Institute of Physics, I warmly congratulate all of them."

Share Story