These articles are now archived and will no longer be updated.

Swansea University academics Honoured by Welsh Academy

Five Swansea University academics are among the new entrants to the Learned Society of Wales’ Fellowship.

They join 38 other new Fellows, all of whom share a link with Wales, its universities or intellectual life and are drawn from all specialisms.

The new Fellows from Swansea University are:

  • Professor Thomas Crick MBE FIET FBCS, Professor of Digital Education & Policy, Swansea University
  • Professor Caroline Franklin FEA, Professor of English Literature & Creative Writing, Swansea University
  • Professor Ceri Phillips, Head of College of Human & Health Sciences & Professor of Health Economics, Swansea University
  • Professor Dominic Reeve FICE FIM, FRMetS Professor of Coastal Engineering & Head, Zienkiewicz Centre for Computational Engineering, Swansea University
  • Professor David Ritchie FInstP CPhys, Professor of Semiconductor Science and Technology, Swansea University & Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge

The Society’s President, Sir Emyr Jones Parry said of the new intake:
“I am delighted to see the election of 43 new Fellows, showing again the talent connected with Wales, which will reinforce the work of the Society, recognising excellence, promoting research and putting our expertise at the disposal of the nation.”

Election to the Fellowship is public recognition of excellence and takes place following a rigorous examination of each nominee’s achievements in their relevant field.

The Society’s Fellowship now numbers 562. Their combined expertise allows the Society to strengthen its contribution to Welsh public life, through its contributions to government policy development, public lectures and seminars and its expanding Wales Studies programme.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted at the Society’s AGM which will be held, remotely this year due to the Covid-19 restrictions, on 20th May.


Share Story