The 2024 Intercollegiate Eisteddfod returns to Swansea University

Hundreds take part in the 2024 Intercollegiate Eisteddfod

Aberystwyth University students hold up winning sheild

The 2024 Intercollegiate Eisteddfod returns to Swansea University

Over the first weekend of March this year, Swansea University welcomed hundreds of Welsh-medium students to take part in the 2024 Intercollegiate Eisteddfod. It was in 2019 that the Intercollegiate Eisteddfod last visited Swansea and it was a pleasure to host the event again, which is one of the social and competitive highlights of the Welsh Universities student calendar.

For eight years, Bangor University has been reigned as the champion of the Intercollegiate Eisteddfod so expectations were high once again this year, but Aberystwyth University managed to gain the shield for the first time since 2015!

The competitions began on Friday 1st March with the Sports Tournament which saw Cardiff, Swansea, Aberystwyth and Bangor Universities all participating with their various rugby, football and netball teams. After an afternoon of keen competition, Swansea University were the champions of the Sports Tournament!

On Saturday the 2nd of March, the stage Eisteddfod was held in the Great Hall on the Bay Campus with the Swansea Valley comedian, Noel James, steering the event following Professor Gwenno Ffrancon's word of welcome to all the students. Taking over from the stage in the afternoon was one of Swansea University's former students and former Students' Union Welsh Affairs Officer, Tom Kemp. From the very start of the day, there was a great atmosphere with the fun and rivalry lasting until the very last competition.

It was a pleasure to welcome back the presenter, and former student, Siân Thomas as Mistress of Ceremonies and it was Siân who had the pleasure of presenting the main prizes within the homework competitions. The support from University staff in judging the homework competitions was invaluable, as well as close friends of Academi Hywel Teifi including the well-known musician Eric Jones judging the Music Trophy, and the local artist, Rhys Padarn judging the Art Medal. Here are the winners:

  • Music Trophy - Celt John, Bangor University
  • Welsh Learner Medal - Ieuan Jacka, Swansea University
  • Art Medal - Nia Williams, Aberystwyth University
  • Science Medal - Fflur Edwards, Aberystwyth University
  • Drama Medal - Kirsty Lewis, Bangor University

The Crown and Chair adjudicators were two members of Swansea University's Welsh Department; Dr Miriam Jones awarded Rebecca Rees from Aberystwyth University as the winner of the Crown for her piece of prose entitled Y Goleudy - The Lighthouse, and Chief Bard Professor Tudur Hallam named Nanw Maelor, also from Aberystwyth University, as the very worthy winner of the Intercollegiate Eisteddfod Chair with her poem Bae - Bay.

The stage competitions came to an end with the SATB Choir, which Bangor University were awarded first prize for their performance of Y Tangnefeddwyr - The Peacemakers by Eric Jones. It was an extremely close Eisteddfod with the final score showing as little as seventeen points between the two top Universities but the deserving winners of the 2024 Intercollegiate Eisteddfod were Aberystwyth University! Congratulations to them.

To conclude this special weekend, a gig was held back at Singleton Campus with some of the most popular names on the Welsh music scene. The night was opened by the band Mellt, then none other than Gwilym and following that, another former student of Swansea University returning to perform as FRMAND. Quite a weekend to remember!

Images from 2024 Rhyng-gol