Celebrating a Decade of Swansea's Branch of the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol

Celebrating the developments in teaching through Welsh at Swansea since 2011

Welsh-medium students outside Fulton House on Singleton Campus

A celebration was held at Swansea University on Wednesday 8 March 2023 to mark a decade since establishing the Coleg Cymraeg Cenedlaethol and, as a result, the Swansea Branch of the Coleg Cymraeg.

Since establishing Academi Hywel Teifi in 2010 and the Swansea Branch of the Coleg Cymraeg in 2011, there has been a 135% growth in the number of students studying 40 credits per year through the medium of Welsh at Swansea University and an increase in the number of subjects taught through Welsh from 5 to 22. 

In the company of Sir Roderick Evans, Deputy Chancellor of Swansea University, Dr Aled Eirug, Chairman of the Coleg Cymraeg, and Dr Dylan Phillips, Senior Academic Manager of the Coleg Cymraeg, there was also an opportunity to celebrate the developments seen in teaching through the medium of Welsh at Swansea University and also in the number of students studying, or have studied part of their degree plans in Welsh.

As part of the event a special newsletter was published to commemorate and preserve these milestones in the history of the Welsh language at Swansea University.

In addition, awards were presented to recognise the achievements of staff and students who have had a positive impact on life through the Welsh language at Swansea University over the past decade.

Nominations for eight awards were received from members of staff and students, and panels of expert judges awarded the following:

  • Special Contribution Award: Professor Siwan Davies
  • Outstanding Student Contribution Award: Dr Shannon Rowlands and Alpha Evans
  • Welsh-medium Research Star Award: Professor Gwynedd Parry and Dr Elain Price
  • Welsh-medium Postgraduate Star Award: Dr Grug Muse and Dr Wyn Mason
  • Innovative Teaching Award through the medium of Welsh: Sharon Jones
  • Contribution to Student Support Award: Dr Non Vaughan Williams and Iwan Williams
  • Star Learner Award (Student): Helen Bartlett
  • Star Learner Award (Staff): Rhydian Francis-Morris

Professor Gwenno Ffrancon, Director of Academi Hywel Teifi and Chair of the Swansea Branch, said, "The collaboration between us and the Coleg Cymraeg has been extremely straightforward and constructive over the years, bringing significant benefits to Welsh-medium higher education. It has been a decade of progress and various successes for the staff and students of the Branch who have made local, national and international contributions bringing prestige to the University and the Coleg Cymraeg. It was a great pleasure to be able to present awards to some of the members during the event and to recognise their contributions to enriching Swansea's Welsh medium education and community."